Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free

ReputationRep:
    I'm currently a Year 13 student studying Biology, Chemistry, Maths and Further Maths, but I've recently looked at entry requirements for some medical schools and some do not accept Further Maths A Level as a separate qualification to Maths A Level, others say that Further Maths is only acceptable until AS, whilst a few medical schools do not mention the situation of Maths and Further Maths A Levels at all.

I'd appreciate all help on the matter as I'm finding it quite confusing.

ReputationRep:
    Because you have Biology, Chemistry, and Maths, you will be fine with Further Maths if that is what you want to study. Medical schools may not give you full credit for taking four A-Levels, instead viewing you as having taken three, but they will not hold it against you.

ReputationRep:
    Unless you really want to do further maths then id drop it. You don't need 4 a levels for a medicine offer and the extra work may results in a lower grade in your other subjects.

ReputationRep:
    (Original post by drinktheoceans)
    I'm currently a Year 13 student studying Biology, Chemistry, Maths and Further Maths, but I've recently looked at entry requirements for some medical schools and some do not accept Further Maths A Level as a separate qualification to Maths A Level, others say that Further Maths is only acceptable until AS, whilst a few medical schools do not mention the situation of Maths and Further Maths A Levels at all.

What are you confused about? What you describe seems spot on!

The fact is: if someone has chemistry maths and FM then they are having a significantly narrower education than most. Med schools don't want that.

You, however, will be fine either way, if you get the grades. You will need to decide whether continuing with further maths is worth it or not.

ReputationRep: