Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free

ReputationRep:
    Hi everyone,

I am studying engineering at Loughborough University. On my results, I narrowly missed a 2.1 (58.7).

I have been considering applying for a placement, and I was wondering if I could report my grade as an expected/on track for a 2.1, as it is seems a realistic grade expectation. Is it allowed?

ReputationRep:
    you can say you're expected a 2.1 but you can't say you got a 2.1 in your first year because you didn't
    • Community Assistant
    • CV Helper

ReputationRep:
    Community Assistant
    CV Helper
    (Original post by Summit)
    Hi everyone,

I am studying engineering at Loughborough University. On my results, I narrowly missed a 2.1 (58.7).

I have been considering applying for a placement, and I was wondering if I could report my grade as an expected/on track for a 2.1, as it is seems a realistic grade expectation. Is it allowed?
    Are you specifically asked to predict a grade? Everyone knows that Universities do not have a mechanism for predicting grades - there are only 3 basic choices and you aren't going to pick 2.2, very few will brazen out a 1st, so 90+% of people will say 2.1 and so it's pointless.

Unless you are in your final year, with consistent grades behind you, and you've been asked - don't predict. More than anything, it undermines the credibility of what else you have put in your application.

ReputationRep:
    (Original post by threeportdrift)
    Are you specifically asked to predict a grade? Everyone knows that Universities do not have a mechanism for predicting grades - there are only 3 basic choices and you aren't going to pick 2.2, very few will brazen out a 1st, so 90+% of people will say 2.1 and so it's pointless.

Unless you are in your final year, with consistent grades behind you, and you've been asked - don't predict. More than anything, it undermines the credibility of what else you have put in your application.