Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free

International student : how to see a gynecologist? watch

ReputationRep:
    Hi all

I am a French student coming to the University of Edinburgh starting next week for a year of exchange programme. I would like to ask how appointments for sexual health matters work in Edinburgh.

More specifically, I have a couple issues I would like to discuss with a gynecologist (though none of them involve urgent symptoms or anything, more like concerns with my nexplanon implant), and I would also like to have a complete health screening down there. As in, not only an std test, but also for thrush, a check-up of whether the good bacteria are doing okay, and an estrogen level test. I also need a booster shot for a hepatitis B vaccine.

I have no idea who I should turn towards to proceed with all that, should I register with a GP first? Go to a clinic?

Thank you for your kind help
    • TSR Support Team
    • Very Important Poster
    • PS Reviewer

ReputationRep:
    TSR Support Team
    Very Important Poster
    PS Reviewer
    You need to register with a GP and they will talk to you and decide what do you or don't need. You may not get a complete health check up unless needed though but again your GP will advise.

ReputationRep:
    Okay, great. Thank you for your quick and helpful reply

ReputationRep:
    Register with a GP and I think they'll refer you if you need one

ReputationRep:
    (Original post by yeon)
    Hi all

I am a French student coming to the University of Edinburgh starting next week for a year of exchange programme. I would like to ask how appointments for sexual health matters work in Edinburgh.