Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free

ReputationRep:
    Hi everyone,

I have been struggling with the English GCSE course, I'm currently in Year 11 and need to push all of my B grades to an A* for my exam, as I am thinking about taking English at A-Levels. My teacher is average and can't give me any advice as to what needs to be done to get the A* (or a level 9 as it now is in the AQA course)

Any specific resources or past essays that got you an A* at GCSE would be greatly appreciated. This is my first time on TSR, can't wait to see how it turns out

Kind regards,
    sh1vaan1

ReputationRep:
    (Original post by sh1vaan1)
    Hi everyone,

I have been struggling with the English GCSE course, I'm currently in Year 11 and need to push all of my B grades to an A* for my exam, as I am thinking about taking English at A-Levels. My teacher is average and can't give me any advice as to what needs to be done to get the A* (or a level 9 as it now is in the AQA course)

Any specific resources or past essays that got you an A* at GCSE would be greatly appreciated. This is my first time on TSR, can't wait to see how it turns out

Kind regards,
    sh1vaan1
    I didn't revise for English at all; when I did the converse for my mocks, it all went wrong!

Here are my English Literature exam marks:
    Unit 1 - (OMAM and AIC) - 60/68 = A*
    Unit 2 - Poetry - 27/54 = B (ruined my chances of an A*)

I wasn't even expecting a C. The one tip I have is write a load of *******s but in the best way possible. If you're well spoken, you should be sorted. I hadn't even read both of the books since Year 9 but I plucked random quotes from the extracts and explained the subtle implications within them.

For English Language:
    Unit 1 - 45/80 - B

This is just a test of how fast you can think and put ideas on a page. Just learn how to approach questions.

P.S. I have never read a book outside English lessons.

ReputationRep:
    Nice job

ReputationRep: