Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free
x Turn on thread page Beta

Economics Lovers watch

Announcements

ReputationRep:
    Hi, Ive just done economics AS and contemplating dropping it and taking up physics AS. Im an A grade student ( hoping for 260/300 UMS for economics), I also do further maths and chemistry. I was wondering if you lovely people could tell me whats in economics A2 and tell me why I should carry on

ReputationRep:
    Depends which exam board you're on. I did Edexcel Economics:

Unit 4: Industrial Economics

Unit 5: Either Development Economics or Labour Markets

Unit 6: The UK Economy in a Global Context

http://www.edexcel.org.uk/VirtualContent/25199.pdf << Specification

Whether you should carry on or not depends on what you want to do for your degree. I found Economics to be really interesting and fun at A2 though, well worth it. Have you considered carrying on Economics and still doing A/S Physics?

ReputationRep:
    I thought about carring it on but at our school we can only do 4 subjects so I couldnt do economics. (FurtherMath counts as 2 as its an A-Level in a year). Im on AQA board bye the way

ReputationRep:
    http://www.aqa.org.uk/qual/pdf/AQA-5...41-W-SP-05.pdf

There's the spec for AQA. Generally I think that universities look more kindly upon people who complete their A-Levels, as opposed to randomly dropping subjects and picking up more A/S's. What degree are you planning on doing?

ReputationRep:
    (Original post by Llamas)
    http://www.aqa.org.uk/qual/pdf/AQA-5...41-W-SP-05.pdf

There's the spec for AQA. Generally I think that universities look more kindly upon people who complete their A-Levels, as opposed to randomly dropping subjects and picking up more A/S's. What degree are you planning on doing?
    yes i've heard the same that an A2 is better than 2 ASs

ReputationRep:
    I took AQA economics upto A2 level. Check out the AQA website for more info, but here is a brief guide.