The Student Room Group

PGCE application from abroad - What experience is accepted?

Hey everyone.
Since I graduated in 2014 I've been in Hong Kong teaching English at primary level. Now teaching English is nice but I know what I really want to do is teach maths. So I decided I'd apply for PGCE starting 2017, ideally for secondary maths.

My question is does two years of teaching English in a primary school abroad count for classroom experience? Particularly when I want to apply for secondary maths. Does the subject/level of your experience need to match what you're applying for?

I've already started teaching in Hong Kong for this school year so I'm pretty much stuck here for this year. I'm worried if the experience doesn't count I'll have no way to get it in time for applying for 2017 PGCE.
As far as I know you need a degree in the subject you want to teach (at secondary level) and then can do a PGCE but check uni requirements.
Original post by MrPotato
Hey everyone.
Since I graduated in 2014 I've been in Hong Kong teaching English at primary level. Now teaching English is nice but I know what I really want to do is teach maths. So I decided I'd apply for PGCE starting 2017, ideally for secondary maths.

My question is does two years of teaching English in a primary school abroad count for classroom experience? Particularly when I want to apply for secondary maths. Does the subject/level of your experience need to match what you're applying for?

I've already started teaching in Hong Kong for this school year so I'm pretty much stuck here for this year. I'm worried if the experience doesn't count I'll have no way to get it in time for applying for 2017 PGCE.

Here are a selection of quotes from universities:

Goldsmiths: We also recommend that prospective PGCE Secondary students gain experience in UK secondary schools.