The Student Room Group

First ever chemistry essay - referencing?!

Hi,

I'm a humanities graduate on an Access to Science course - so while I'm no stranger to essays and Harvard referencing, I'm feeling clueless!

I have to write 1500 words on the following:

- describe the structure of the nucleus from an atom of my choice
- describe the subatomic particles
- outline how electrons are involved in the formation of bonds between different atoms to make molecules.

What books/online sources would you recommend? I've emailed my tutor but all she said was A level text books...

Is referencing in a chemistry essay the same as in normal essays? I've always been told that for every 100 or so words there should be a reference. But this was at degree level and for English-based degrees.

Any help would be much appreciated!
Reply 1
One cheat-ish way is to go to relevant wikipedia pages and look through all of their sources, and mix those in with whatever comes up on Google. When it comes to referencing, there's a website called https://www.refme.com/ that has a lot of different types of referencing stored and you can just put the name of a book, or a link to an article, journal etc. in. If you're not sure which type of referencing to use, maybe ask your lecturer/tutor/whoever assigned it to you? No idea if any of this will help, I'm terrible at essays.
Original post by AH127
One cheat-ish way is to go to relevant wikipedia pages and look through all of their sources, and mix those in with whatever comes up on Google. When it comes to referencing, there's a website called https://www.refme.com/ that has a lot of different types of referencing stored and you can just put the name of a book, or a link to an article, journal etc. in. If you're not sure which type of referencing to use, maybe ask your lecturer/tutor/whoever assigned it to you? No idea if any of this will help, I'm terrible at essays.