How long does it take to claim tax? Watch

coolworld37
Badges: 2
Rep:
?
Report Thread starter 11 years ago
Hi,

I finished my 2 week contract at this hellhole of a warehouse a month ago and the idiots taxed me £54 even though I told them hundred times I was a student in full time education. I rang up HM and they told me to send my P60 and a cover letter to their offices in Liverpool so they can decide the outcome. I've not heard anything back yet. Nobody's answering the phone so I have no idea whats going on.

Has anyone here claimed tax? How long did it take for you to get it back?

Thank you.
La Trampa
  • CV Helper
Badges: 18
Rep:
?
Report 11 years ago
keep ringing.apparently claiming back tax takes time.
pikaboo
Badges: 13
Rep:
?
Report 11 years ago
Ergh I need to do this too. I don't even have any P60 or P whatever forms. Annoying!
Crystal89
Badges: 0
Rep:
?
Report 11 years ago
Yeah, this happened to me too. Sent my P60 and a covering letter explaining what happened and got a cheque about 3 weeks later. They like to hold on to the money for as long as possible lol.
La Trampa
  • CV Helper
Rep:
?
Report 11 years ago
i'm sure you can download them (the forms) off the internet.just google them.
Hanski
Rep:
?
Report 11 years ago
If you did this job after April 2007 (this year) then I'm pretty sure you won't get it back until after April 2008! Unlucky I know! I still haven't got my tax back from the last tax year (April 06 - April 07)!!! But you will eventually get it back!
iceman_jondoe
Badges: 15
Rep:
?
Report 11 years ago
i have a question ive been in part time employment for my gap year, i will now be starting university in september, whilst continuing with my part - time employment. Will i be able to claim any tax back at all?
La Trampa
  • CV Helper
Rep:
?
Report 11 years ago