FoxStudent
Badges: 0
Rep:
?
Report Thread starter 3 years ago
Hello,
I am a student at Bangor University, currently studying Psychology BSc. I am thinking of taking up a masters and PhD - thus entering the academic career pathway. However, I am worried my degree in Psychology will be enough for what I want to do. I am very interested in the biological components of psychology (Neuroscience, general anatomy and even sometimes physics) and attend biological-based modules at the university. However, I have no A levels in biology or physics (only Psychology). BUT I read books about biology and have an amateur understanding of general biology and a student level of knowledge on brain physiology. I guess what I am asking is, when it comes to applying for a masters and PhD in neuroscience-based labs, will a degree in Psychology and an obvious keen interest be enough to wow my professor?
Thanks for your time.
monkyvirus
Badges: 13
Rep:
?
Report 3 years ago
As long as you can link your studies to the course you should be fine. I was accepted on to a Psychology PhD with a Statistics degree (the phd is about using stats in psychology but notably I have no lab or psychology experience whatsoever).

I would definitely focus on those biology-based modules in any application.
FoxStudent
Badges: 0
Rep:
?
Report Thread starter 3 years ago
Thanks
iammichealjackson
Badges: 18
Rep:
?
Report 3 years ago
(Original post by FoxStudent)
Hello,