Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free

ReputationRep:
    Hi I have just begun college and am feeling confused about what a levels to take and was wondering if anyone could give any advice. I have started with history, geography, french and either maths or english literature for AS - the college have allowed me to study both for a couple weeks and then drop the one I dislike. Does this seem like a good mix, or work overload? I am a capable student who got 6 A*s and 4As at gcse however I am already feeling the jump after just a week.
    I have always been into humanities, however I was thinking if I decided english over maths, that would probably be humanity overload, making it trickier when applying to university? I really like the idea of working as a diplomat in the foreign office.
    Finally when looking at entry requirements for universities, say it says AAB, needing an A in history, as long as you get the A in the history, does it matter what the other subjects are as long as you meet the entry requirements? Do universities take into account the other a levels and give a bit more lenience if the other a levels are 'harder' than say if they were 'soft subjects' ?

ReputationRep:
    What four subjects would you enjoy the most? I (like everyone else here) has only taken 3/4/5, i would recommend the ones i particularly enjoyed but that would be unlikely to align with your interests. As long as you take the subjects YOU enjoy, with at least one facilitating subject, you should be fine. I find i did best in the ones i enjoyed the most, with an exact correlation, don't worry about how hard people say a subject is.

ReputationRep:
    If you think you can do well in it, I would go for maths.
    Unless you want to do English literature, you already have an extended writing A level with history, and maths could go alongside geography if you decide you want to do a more science subject.

ReputationRep:
    (Original post by spicedrum)