should i do a level Art if i didn't do art gcse and im not that great at drawing

Watch
mariah22
Badges: 0
Rep:
?
Report Thread starter 4 years ago
So, I am thinking to change sixth forms and at this new one i am thinking to choose art a level. However, I didn't do art at GCSE the last time i did art was in year 9

My art skills are not that good, i mean im probably alright, but i really want to do art a level and i like looking at art and pictures of people that others have drawn on instagram etc. I am really looking forward to doing art.

As i didn't do it for gcse i need to bring a portfolio to the sixth form.
So my questions are: What should i include in the portfolio?
Is a level art going to be hard if i am not that good at art and haven't taken it at GCSE? So basically i need advice from people who are not that good at art when they first started doing a level art and i need tips and advice from people that didn't do art gcse.
It would be helpful is the people ansering started off really bad at art and didnt do art gcse so i can understand it better as i could relate to you

Thanks guys, and p.s the sixth form will only let me do art based on the portfolio i give them so i need tips on what to include etc drawings or paintings.
TheAdviser
Badges: 2
Rep:
?
Report 4 years ago
This would be the worst decision of your life. Trust me, been there and done it.
LegallyMinded
Badges: 16
Rep:
?
Report 4 years ago
"i am not good at art"
"i didn't do art at GCSE"

Don't take it at a-level. Honest advice here.
Crammyandcrabby
Badges: 1
Rep:
?
Report 4 years ago
I think you answered you own question.

Trust me, we've all be there where we have looked at people's Instagram drawings on Instagram and had sudden inspiration. That will
wear off eventually if you don't have a genuine interest for it.

And it's not easy at all. I know so many people who are amazing at drawing, who put hours into their work yet got a B/A at GCSE!! (They were