Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free

ReputationRep:
    Hi,

I'm a foreign student starting at Essex Uni this october but I still haven't locked in my housing situation yet as I was pretty late to sign up for on-campus accommodation.

So since I'm on the waiting list I might have to live in a private accommodation for the first few months.

Anyone here with experience of living in private accommodation in Colchester?

Is it generally good/bad? Any areas to recommend? Any areas to avoid?

Thank you

ReputationRep:
    (Original post by Egemundo)
    Hi,

I'm a foreign student starting at Essex Uni this october but I still haven't locked in my housing situation yet as I was pretty late to sign up for on-campus accommodation.

So since I'm on the waiting list I might have to live in a private accommodation for the first few months.

Thank you
    I think the uni will provide you with housing, they let x amount of students in, the first year get the on campus, the second get off campus, I assume you'll get off campus. I can't say which area's to avoid as I don't know it too well, anywhere with flats/estates, would be a good idea to avoid, but that's all I can advice really, pretty sure the uni will help u tho.

ReputationRep:
    (Original post by IronicalMan)
    I think the uni will provide you with housing, they let x amount of students in, the first year get the on campus, the second get off campus, I assume you'll get off campus. I can't say which area's to avoid as I don't know it too well, anywhere with flats/estates, would be a good idea to avoid, but that's all I can advice really, pretty sure the uni will help u tho.
    I believe I've been put on a waiting list right now for on-campus accommodation. Since I'm an international student I do believe they put me as "extra high priority" to find a place for me on campus before October though It's still not guaranteed that I will get one.