The Student Room Group

Is anyone elsestudying for A level Chemistry as a private candidate in 2017?

Hi just wondering if anyone else is studying for A level Chemistry and taking the exam in 2017. I am home studying and following the AQA specification. Thought it would be good to meet maybe others in the same boat? Thanks
Reply 1
Hey martina,

I am also studying at home, its much more fun than school in my opinion haha. Although i am struggling to find a centre which can let me do my controlled assessments. Could you explain to me how the controlled assessments work haha there is not much widespread info about this sort of stuff, thanks!
Original post by Suffaru
Hey martina,

I am also studying at home, its much more fun than school in my opinion haha. Although i am struggling to find a centre which can let me do my controlled assessments. Could you explain to me how the controlled assessments work haha there is not much widespread info about this sort of stuff, thanks!

You will need to find a centre near you that can accommodate private candidates. For the practicals they usually charge £200 a practical (its the cheapest I've seen) and about £50 per exam sat. As for revising the practical elements, my advice would be to learn the topic in depth and look on past papers and mark schemes at the kind of wording you need to be able to get a good grade
Reply 3
Thx man, are you also applying to medical school as a private candidate?I know i am lol. Does it matter, if you have studied as a private candidate or whether you have studied at a traditional college?
Original post by Suffaru
Thx man, are you also applying to medical school as a private candidate?I know i am lol. Does it matter, if you have studied as a private candidate or whether you have studied at a traditional college?

No, I'm just resitting to get better grades for a better uni than the one I've already been too lol.

No as far as I know it doesn't matter as long as you meet the grade requirements
Reply 5