The Student Room Group

I don´t know if I like it at university

I only been here a week, but it feels like months. I am an international student and I find it kind of hard to connect with people. I miss my friends and my parents back home and I can´t wait to go home in December! My flatmates are nice and I think we get along well, but I don´t really think they are my type. They usually aren´t very interested when I try to talk to them about different stuff. I am actually thinking about dropping out in December, but I don´t know. I feel like I am the only person who feels like this.
Original post by student97girl
I only been here a week, but it feels like months. I am an international student and I find it kind of hard to connect with people. I miss my friends and my parents back home and I can´t wait to go home in December! My flatmates are nice and I think we get along well, but I don´t really think they are my type. They usually aren´t very interested when I try to talk to them about different stuff. I am actually thinking about dropping out in December, but I don´t know. I feel like I am the only person who feels like this.

Perhaps you can look for international students (maybe even from the same country as you) as a starting point? If you found someone nice that way I think it might help.

I wanted to drop out for a few weeks of first year too :tongue: and didn't really feel like I connected with anyone but over time I connected with some of my flatmates which was what I needed and that was cool.

Try coursemates as well, it's not easy I know but friendship groups form fairly quickly so.. even if it's in tutorials etc, strike up a conversation with someone, sit with them etc (easier said than done I know) and keep trying :smile:

But I will say one thing as well, you have my sympathy. It must be hell to feel 'disconnected' (tbh I'd probably secretly shed a tear or two...) and to miss your parents etc. I know how that bit feels :frown:
(edited 7 years ago)