Turn on thread page Beta

Hitch hiking! watch

Announcements

ReputationRep:
    Does anyone out there besides myself still do it?!

Where have you been on your adventures?

Any amazing (or horror) stories to share?

Whats furthest you've been from home?

Whats the longest hitch you've done time wise?

ReputationRep:
    Never done it. Don't think I ever will. I've seen too many horror movies :p:

ReputationRep:
    Someone on this forum (Carl) hitchhiked to Morocco - there is a thread on it somewhere.

ReputationRep:
    david gilmour and syd barrett from Pink Floyd went hitchiking through Europe in the 60s and they ended up malnourished and extremely exhausted and abandoned their trip.

that kind of put me off lol

ReputationRep:
    im quite intrigued about hitch hiking

if im a driver
    why pick them up? you could get carjacked, killed, etc

if im a hitcher
    what if i get raped? robbed? etc

and how do hitchers get picked up? arent drivers too scared?

ReputationRep:
    (Original post by paperclip)
    im quite intrigued about hitch hiking

if im a driver
    why pick them up? you could get carjacked, killed, etc

if im a hitcher
    what if i get raped? robbed? etc

and how do hitchers get picked up? aren't drivers too scared?
    Drivers tend to pick people up because they want the company, alot of truck drivers and sales reps for example do silly amounts of miles per week so it's nice to yack to someone new. Sometimes they pick up hitchers purely because they feel sorry for them! More often than not however, they where hitchers themselves and it's good to return the 'road karma'!

I always put my rucksack in clear view and smile to show i'm a traveller and not going to kill you. Alot of people have stopped for me and said they dont usually stop but that i looked friendly. Presentation is everything for a hitcher!