Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free

Teaching in Japan [Tokyo?] ? Watch

Announcements

ReputationRep:
    Hi, I was wondering if someone could help!

I graduated with a 1st class degree in German Studies from Warwick a few years ago. Since then i’ve not been in the best place mental-health wise (I was in hospital for around 9 months), but i’m physically and mentally in a better place now. In the meantime i’ve acquired a TEFL qualification and i’ve recently moved to Germany to begin teaching freelance whilst I find my feet.

Anyway…it’s always been a dream of mine to visit Japan. I have been fascinated by Japanese culture since I was little and have begun learning basic Japanese (i’ve still got a long long way to go!) This past year i’ve been toying with the idea of applying for a program in which I could teach English in Japan for around a year. I know of the JET scheme and others, but realistically, I would prefer to work and live in Tokyo (I understand that through these programs, not many people are placed in Tokyo).

I was just wondering if anyone thought I would stand a chance of getting onto any schemes or had any recommendations or ideas of what I could do? I know rent etc. is more expensive in big cities such as Tokyo, but I would love more than anything to be placed there.

Could anyone share any experiences with me or perhaps give me an idea of what program would be suited to me? Any help or advice would be greatly appreciated!

Thank you.

ReputationRep:
    (Original post by soph3mai)
    Hi, I was wondering if someone could help!

I graduated with a 1st class degree in German Studies from Warwick a few years ago. Since then i’ve not been in the best place mental-health wise (I was in hospital for around 9 months), but i’m physically and mentally in a better place now. In the meantime i’ve acquired a TEFL qualification and i’ve recently moved to Germany to begin teaching freelance whilst I find my feet.