Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free

ReputationRep:
    I have a serious question that I truly hope someone could help me with.

I am a 3rd year student studying at a less prestigious university in Ontario, Canada named Wilfrid Laurier University. Although the school is less prestigious, I do have a 3.91/4.0 G.P.A, the equivalent to a First Class Honours Degree. My dream is to become a City of London Lawyer working in a large commercial firm. I want to seek the advice of TSR on what my next steps are:

Vacation Scheme: As I am in the penultimate year of my studies, I was thinking of applying to vacation schemes at large City firms from Wilfrid Laurier University. I am a duel national (I hold British citizenship) so I have no issue working in the United Kingdom. From there, I would hope that I could receive a Trainee Solicitor Contract, where they can then pay for my GDL and LPC expenses. This, of course, is the dream scenario and I wanted to know how likely it would be to receive an offer like this based off my credentials?

BA Senior Status Law / Masters in Law: This is another option, where I could apply to Oxford Senior Status, Bristol MA Law, Nottingham Graduate LLB, and Exeter Graduate LLB and then look for vacation schemes and eventual trainee solicitor contracts.

Masters: My grades are high enough to get into graduate programs at LSE, Kings, UCL, St. Andrews, amongst others. I have heard of students whom have done 12 month programs and then applied for trainee solicitor contracts. After which you will still have to do the GDL and LPC, but it has been paid for. This option would be fantastic, but I am nervous that I will not get a T.C and waste money on a Masters.

GDL --> I could also pay for the GDL at the College of Law myself, after having my GDL I can then seek out the job market, but I am nervous that my non-experience in the law + my background at Wilfrid Laurier will harm my chances of getting into an established firm.