Join TSR now for chat about life, relationships, fashion and more…Sign up now

How to deal with people playing games/saying untrue things about you?

So I've met two people outside of my family, relatives and social circle.

I've told a lot of people I'm studying Computer Science and this info is also on my Facebook.

I have worked as a waiter only one day a week, however, I quit in March.

Doing much research into programming, software, web development, there are many who built projects and got into these jobs without a degree so I decided to pursue this path.

So I've told a lot of people I'm going to built projects and then apply for programming, web developer jobs.I've seen two people and person A who is a male met me at Asda and he said "what am I doing" I said starting to look for programmer jobs, he said "I thought you was working as a waiter".

I also seen another lady I know last week, she asked me "what am I doing now", I said applying for programmer jobs", she said "I thought you was working as a waiter", I can't believe she's saying this, her husband knows and her cousins also know I applying for programmer jobs, I've told them, so she must've knew this info before I told her.

I wonder why they put so much emphasis on the waiter job instead of asking about my degree or my job search.
    I feel there is some game play here, they either think I'm lying or they just don't want me to succeed.

Why on earth she would say that?1) I was working with her cousin and we both left in March, so she knows I left in March.2) I've told her husband and cousins I'm looking for programmer jobs, so she must know this, unless they got jealous and did not tell her, I say this because their family do say "what am I up to".3) I am still studying, so why think I'm working as a waiter for a career?

ReputationRep:
    Maybe they forgot?