Long distance relationships - Year 13/college and Uni

Announcements Posted on
Four things that unis think matter more than league tables 08-12-2016

ReputationRep:
    Does anyone have any positive/honest advice or stories they can tell me about long distance relationships? My boyfriend of 2 years has just moved down to Southampton Uni while, being in the year below, I am still studying my A levels about 2-3 hours away. We have seen each other at least every other day pretty much for the past two years and it feels like such a huge shock to the system. I cried a lot last night.

I am ultimately prepared for the worst, and understand that there will be so many new girls and new people where he is - and also that LDRs require a hell of a lot more effort, but I still can't stop panicking. I'm not going to become clingy or desperate - I'm fully aware that I may not get to have a proper conversation with him for the next two weeks at least, throughout freshers week, and I've got things lined up to fill my spare time with, but I can't stop crying.

Next year I plan on going to Uni in London, where I will be about an hour away from him which will be closer - and I have the money to go and see him currently at least once a month; we have rough plans of seeing each other exactly a month from now. Sorry for the long rant, but any advice or anyone in my situation who feels like a chat, I'd really appreciate it.

Thanks!

ReputationRep:
    (Original post by n4ta1i3)
    Does anyone have any positive/honest advice or stories they can tell me about long distance relationships? My boyfriend of 2 years has just moved down to Southampton Uni while, being in the year below, I am still studying my A levels about 2-3 hours away. We have seen each other at least every other day pretty much for the past two years and it feels like such a huge shock to the system. I cried a lot last night.