Absolutely in love with politics - but can it lead me anywhere careerwise? Watch

the_innovator
Badges: 0
Report Thread starter 11 years ago
Hi guys, i'm 16 and about a year ago i just found that i loved learning about politics. i do feel like a geek because of it - is this normal to be so interested?

since suscribing to 'the economist' (its quite central: good) i've gained quite a large insight into the world's affairs and i'm studying it at AS level (politics) along with english lit, history, psychology and critical thinking.

Moving on, looking at the politics section of this forum has made me realise how aware other people are compared to your everyday person. naturally, i do feel embarassed to admit this to my mates and i'm not going to. however, since joining a debating club i've just found it to help so much on the academic side of things. even though i was managing As/A*s in all my subjects i still felt limited as to what was really going on in our society because tbh GCSE really didn't teach me as much as i would've liked to know.

with a view of studying law, can i actually gain much from this interest?

come on guys, i just want to know that i'm not alone
Duran Duran
Rep:
?
Report 11 years ago
You could try and do a PPE course, which will leave your options open if you want to go into politics or other careers too.
the_innovator
(Original post by The_Adarshster)
You could try and do a PPE course, which will leave your options open if you want to go into politics or other careers too.
yeah but if i were to do that course only Oxford would be appealing to me personally and i don't know if i would be able to get in despite having a look at the excellent PPE guide on the TSR Oxford forum.

comments? who feels the same?
the_innovator
Spoog!
Rep:
?
Report 11 years ago
Of course it can!