Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free

Tips for going into agency work (claiming travel fee...etc) Watch

Announcements

ReputationRep:
    Hi guys, long time TSR user with a new account here.

I just graduated this summer and as you all know its hard to kickstart a career off immediately. I graduated in Biomedical Sciences and decided that my best opportunity for work i'm interested in would be for now to join an agency to gain key experience in order to further my future career.

I decided on joining a couple of agencies and after finalising everything including mandatory training I got my first good sign today from an agency called mediplacements. I was told that I had just been shortlisted for a job as a MLA (Medical Lab Assistant) with 2 other people (basically a 1/3 chance i get it).

Obviously I expressed great interest straight away and said I am very keen, however the only issue, which I am willing to work with, is the travel distance and cost. It is 2 hours each way via rail and sadly I dont drive, also the prices arent cheap for the train tickets I require.
    This reminded me of a conversation I had with an agency worker a while back in which he said to me that he claims travel expenses, and he also did something, along the lines of being a limited company, with how he was getting paid both of which he said were very helpful for him.

Therefore my question is asking whether if claiming travel expenses is indeed true and if so how? and also what he meant by he was set up as a limited company, what this means and if possible should I do the same.

Thanks ( :
    • Community Assistant

ReputationRep:
    (Original post by MDERI)

I just graduated this summer and as you all know its hard to kickstart a career off immediately. I graduated in Biomedical Sciences and decided that my best opportunity for work i'm interested in would be for now to join an agency to gain key experience in order to further my future career.