Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free

ReputationRep:
    Hi,

I'm 21, M. My background:

I graduated college with the following qualification: ICT BTEC Level 3 Diploma (A-levels). I then wanted to progress onto ICT HND. However, my college, Tresham, stopped offering the ICT HND so I was forced to study elsewhere. Namely, university.

I had two potential universities. Northampton or De Montfort. I chose the latter primarily because I thought I'd rather commute by train than bus. I also had a friend attending DMU, so familiar company was nice. I went with ICT Games Design (Bsc Hons), a three year course which I thought I'd enjoy, and probably still have mostly the same jobs available to me as if I had went with the ICT HND.

While I enjoyed ICT BTEC Level 3, I didn't enjoy ICT Games Design. The course had various and many 'irrelevant' modules like maths, databases, etc. I simply wasn't having fun whatsoever. I hated it. It wasn't worth the commute or debt. I also remained unsure whether games design was really what I wanted.

I've always grew up believing that I'd study as much as possible, get degrees, or else I'd be working at McDonalds. I therefore didn't want to drop out, but I didn't know what to do. In a panic, I switched courses. While I would have tried the course a little longer, DMU told me that I must switch courses within the first two weeks, or I cannot switch courses until the next year. So, I switched courses at the very end of my second week. I switched to Film Studies with Mandarin.

I opted for this course for several reasons. I thought I'd enjoy this much more, and that at this point I'm just gonna get the Bachelor's Degree.