Join TSR now and get answers to all your questions about uniSign up now

Medical uni- which should i choose?

ReputationRep:
    Hi, Im a student form Poland, and as an international its difficult for me to go to open days. I apply for medicine. I thought about Kings, Edinburgh, Aberdeen, Nottingham, Birmingham and Bristol. I can only choose 4, and because i cant go see them, i thought that maybe you can help me with deciding. ( I have got 700 in UKCAT on average). THX for help

ReputationRep:
    I think you should take a look at how those unis pick applicants and choose the ones that focus on the things that are the strongest parts of your application. (there is a pretty good, although slightly outdated, comparison table here on TSR: http://www.thestudentroom.co.uk/wiki...your_Strengths)

Your UKCAT is good, but if you have a band 2 or lower or don't have really good grades and PS, I'd maybe avoid Edinburgh. They use this scoring system and you need 37-38 points out of 40 to get an offer, and having a UKCAT of 700 would most likely already cost you 1 point. Good luck

ReputationRep:
    Thx for the reply i have band 2, as far as grades i pass polish exam, but i have predicted 90%, 90%, 90% from biology, chemistry and extended english and most uni want biology, chemistry and an additional extended one. Its hard to judge PS, but I feel like i have lots of experience... eg. volunteering and medical conferences.

ReputationRep:
    Ah I see. Since you have band 2 you'd already drop to 37 points at Edinburgh, so I'd say avoid it. Out of those options I'd maybe go for King's, Aberdeen, Nottingham and Birmingham. Bristol places a ridiculous amount of weight on the PS when they select for interview (70% or something like that), and as you said it's really hard to judge yourself how your PS will score. Applying there would imo be unnecessarily risky since you can afford to apply to places that care more about the UKCAT instead.

ReputationRep: