LDR: How will i make it work?

Announcements

ReputationRep:
    So i live in Philippines and my boyfriend lives in India. We've met online (please don't judge) and been talking for a year and everything became official just recently (we had mutual feelings but just afraid to commit cuz of the distance). We badly want to meet each other but that will be not possible for me YET cuz im still a student (graduating). We've talked about him going here and it's a really nice idea since he can afford it but the problem is, if he do come here, i wont be able to be with him all the time for his whole stay (conservative family tho i'm not). Please someone give me advice for this, i really need help.
    PS. i'm 19 and he's 22

ReputationRep:
    First of all, have you had regular video conversations? This is to make sure the guy you fell for is genuine.
    Secondly, if he cannot travel maybe it is worth waiting till you can

ReputationRep:
    (Original post by shawn_o1)
    First of all, have you had regular video conversations? This is to make sure the guy you fell for is genuine.
    Secondly, if he cannot travel maybe it is worth waiting till you can
    well i'm the one who dont like video calls (im ugly lol) but we text a lot in whatsapp every single day since last year even tho he's pretty busy studying. i can really feel that this man is genuine otherwise i would have stopped it long ago. What can you advice about us meeting? should he come here? or should we meet on neutral ground? Thank you so much...

ReputationRep:
    Yeah that's the thing. To not video call your potential love interest is to fall into that trap laid by sexual predators everywhere. They charm unwary individuals without showing their face. You may not be aware but India and surrounding countries have problems with rape culture. So if he resists taking a video call from you before arranging to meet you, it's a sign that you have to eventually stop contact

ReputationRep: