Advice on placement requests

Announcements

Hi,

This might be a first. I've been studying medicine for a couple of years now and we're now out and about doing clinical rotations. These are assigned randomly to ensure equity. However, I haven't been able to afford to actually live out (I commuted around 1 hour 20 to get to uni (so around 3 hours total a day) for the first 2 years). But now we're assigned places and I won't be able to make it for early 8 AM lectures, or even for 9 AM simply because of my commute and the mode of transportation I have to use (I don't own a car). Getting a car and commuting the extra distance isn't really an option due to my finances and I can't move out. My student finance doesn't help much simply because they deem my mother's income to be high (even though my dad doesn't work) as she is a medic but they neglect the fact that there's 2 other siblings and a mortgage to deal with. I'm worried they'll make me move out when I don't have the funds to do that or will place me somewhere that is far ( I don't have much choice there's literally only 2 hospitals close to where I live that I can realistically commute to while getting there on time and the 2nd hospital will be nip and tuck running for it to get there on time kinda stuff). I've got an appointment to discuss the issue with the person doing the placements and wants to know how I can best put this and get them to make an exception to accomodate for my needs? They haven't been lenient in the past with placement requests with other students.

Thanks.

ReputationRep:
    (Original post by Anonymous)
    Hi,