First "safe space" notice seen at University.

ReputationRep:
    I'm in my last year at UWE (University of the West of England), and I've come to notice, for the first time, a "safe space" notice.

It says that any behaviour that is offensive or abusive will result in a ban from the SU.

What I consider bizarre is the ambiguity.

Going by "offence is taken, not give", this means almost anything could be an insult so long as it offends someone. It could be an opinion, it could be an overheard joke, it could be anything.

Glad it's my last year but who's to say I won't bump into this later on.

ReputationRep:
    SJWs are slowly taking over. The disease is spreading from the US.

ReputationRep:
    (Original post by BobBobson)
    SJWs are slowly taking over. The disease is spreading from the US.
    I was laughed at when I claimed the very same thing last year. It's a disgrace.

ReputationRep:
    (Original post by Dodgypirate)
    I'm in my last year at UWE (University of the West of England), and I've come to notice, for the first time, a "safe space" notice.

It says that any behaviour that is offensive or abusive will result in a ban from the SU.

Going by "offence is taken, not give", this means almost anything could be an insult so long as it offends someone. It could be an opinion, it could be an overheard joke, it could be anything.

Oh dear, what happened to people having thick skins and debating like people in the real world do?

ReputationRep:

It's quite simple, don't say anything that could cause offence, whether it is a joke or not. Your student's union committee must have decided that they need a space where students can relax without being offended.

ReputationRep:
    Claim that the act of declaring the area a safe space and putting up notices to that effect is offensive to your sense of common sense and morality and insist that the SU ban it from taking place.