Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free

ReputationRep:
    I am one year into my a levels and I am studying psychology, sociology and politics. for months I was set on doing psychology at uni, but now I'm thinking not so much- I think art would be more fun and creative- like I only have one life why should I do psychology just because it's 'safer'. BUT i didn't do art at alevel- so will that disadvantage me a lot? and I'm not even sure if I'm good enough at art to do it at uni? ( I got an a* at GCSE but that was years ago) and what careers will it even lead too? I'm so stuck on what subject to do and I have to decide soon as I have to write my personal statement! please reply !xxx

ReputationRep:
    why would you even do art? it's like the sh*ttest subject in the world.

ReputationRep:
    If your not sure whether or not you want to do art at university, then do an art foundation degree first - they will accept pretty much everyone and you can build up a portfolio there for a year to get into uni. If your not doing A level art now then frankly you won't be good enough to get onto an arts degree course as you won't have a good enough portfolio. Even if you do, then it probably won't be a great course - to be frank.

But perhaps then look to do a foundation art course, as if you have only recently decided that you want to do art, and change your mind later on then you can do a psychology degree after the art foundation course as its only a year, (plus I think they are free but not too sure - at least allot less money then a degree.) During that year you can see what part of art you enjoy - and what career will best suit you. Its an 'experimentation' year basically and will put you at an advantage to getting a degree in art afterwards.