Join TSR now and get answers to all your questions about uniSign up now

Not enjoying law degree – advice needed

Announcements

ReputationRep:
    I’m a first year law student, a couple of weeks into the course, and, to my surprise, I’m really not enjoying it. I know legal research,lectures etc. aren’t exactly supposed to be thrilling, but with A levels,despite the work obviously being hard, I was still interested and passionateabout what I was studying. With law, it isn’t like that – trawling throughtextbooks and cases is uninteresting, and I feel like I can’t see myself doingthis for the next few years of my life.

I didn’t do Law at A level, primarily because of the mixedadvice surrounding it, but I thought I’d done sufficient research regarding thedegree, and never seriously entertained the fact that I wouldn’t immediatelyfall in love with the subject and its intricacies. I looked back at my personal statement in an attempt to see why I (thought I) liked it in the first place,but all I read is rather-vague statements about how trials are intriguing; I’m perhaps interested in the end result of it all, the career itself, but thestudy of it has proven uninteresting.