Need Advice: Law grad seeks a change of career

Announcements

ReputationRep:
    Hi all,

I graduated in 2013 with a 2:1 in Law from Southampton university. Since then however I have worked in the luxury interiors industry (kitchens, bathrooms interiors etc).

I have no legal work experience however I have gained a lot of business experience in the three years I have been involved with logistics, marketing online/offline, client relations, PR, project management (physical projects) and outsourcing work abroad etc like procuring services through efficient and cost effective outlets and lasing with contractors abroad.

However at this time I feel like within this industry the scope of growth is limited in some ways and i dare say I don't particularly feel stimulated or challenged.

The question is: whether it is worth applying for a paralegal position first - LPC - apply for TC.

OR

Apply for TC's now as my current work experience will be deemed as sufficient or of sufficient value to be seriously considered as a candidate.

I hope that makes sense, any feedback would be greatly appreciated!

Thanks.

ReputationRep:
    I'd just apply for TCs.

A lot of paralegal roles will either expect the LPC or some legal work experience.

You will need to have a strong application beyond your work experience. You will probably need to address the change of career/why you didn't pursue law three years ago too.

Posted from TSR Mobile

ReputationRep:
    (Original post by J-SP)
    I'd just apply for TCs.

A lot of paralegal roles will either expect the LPC or some legal work experience.

You will need to have a strong application beyond your work experience. You will probably need to address the change of career/why you didn't pursue law three years ago too.

Posted from TSR Mobile
    What constitutes a 'strong application' - i do realise that is not an easy question to answer but would like to get your ideas on some factors / features on the application that strengthen it.