Join TSR now for chat about life, relationships, fashion and more…Sign up now

I'm 18 and nervous about signing on JSA

ReputationRep:
    Hey everyone, I finished college late February as I left and didn't want too continue. I'm struggling too find a job, so on Wednesday I'm signing on.. Also I have too pay my father rent and everyone, including my boyfriend wants me too sign on and I'm so nervous as it's my first time, I have a few questions;
    1. Can they check you've been applying for jobs? I wouldn't lie, but some jobs might not be for me and I'd rather not apply?
    Is there a log diary where you "pretend" you've applied for. (Jobs)
    2. Are the advisors mean? I have anxiety issues and freak out in confrontation or anything.
    3. As I have anxiety, public transport is hard for me, so I'm hoping they'll send me too a closer job centre. Can they do this?
    4. Can they check your buying history?
    I'll be looking for jobs everyday as I'm doing now so there's no problem there. Just really worried, please help!
    Sophie

ReputationRep:
    1- They can check on one site (I forget the name, but you'll probably be told about it). Otherwise, you have to prove that you've been sticking to the agreed upon terms. A lot of advisors will have you agree to do as much as you can to find employment.

Is there a log? There should be.

2- Depends on the person. When I was on UC I had a decent advisor.

3- They'll send you where they can, most of the time this will be your closest centre.

4- Not 100% sure on this. I've heard varying things about bank statements and whether they're needed or not, though honestly, they wont exactly get much by looking at your statement, they just see who the money is going to as well as a few other things (how/when).

(Original post by Sophie3241)