Not what I expected from my course!

Announcements

ReputationRep:
    Hi,

So I am a matured student (30 years old) and last year I took the plunge and enrolled my self to university.

The course i am doing is foundation degree in web technologies with a web development pathway.

My first year was okayish. Passed all the 4 modules we did (thank god for that!). Just started the second year and things are not what I expected. I am finding my current module (computer mathematics) extremely hard. I suck at math and hated math for as long as I can remember. In short it is not for me!

I just want to be a coder (html, css, javascript) and maybe a bit of retional databases but what I am im seeing is hard core computer stuff!

I have tried getting in touch with my university and their reply was these are the core modules even if you have taken a web development pathway. You have to do them. Now i am wondering if i am on the right course!

I would hate to waste my time and money!

Any advice will be appreciated and apologies for my English!

ReputationRep:
    I think you should make an appointment with your personal tutor, to discuss this face-to-face. It may be that you can get extra support with maths to help you through the more challenging modules. Do you think it will just be a couple of tricky modules, or is it going to be like this for the rest of the degree? If you really think that you won't be able to cope, it might be better to cut your losses now, and see if it's possible to get some industry qualifications in web design. You should work out what your chances of getting into the industry are without the degree, and weigh that against your chances of succeeding in the degree.

ReputationRep: