Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free

Making a Secure Website Watch

Announcements

ReputationRep:
    I'm about to make a website and wanted some suggestions on how to make it secure?

Posted from TSR Mobile

ReputationRep:
    Well, what are your risks and what are you defending against?

If I'm just serving up a static HTML site from a boring server I'd have to do things a lot different than handling payments for an ecommerce site!

ReputationRep:
    (Original post by estel)
    Well, what are your risks and what are you defending against?

If I'm just serving up a static HTML site from a boring server I'd have to do things a lot different than handling payments for an ecommerce site!
    Im just a beginner and I've been asked to create a website and then make it secure

Posted from TSR Mobile

ReputationRep:
    (Original post by MuhammadDarcy)
    Im just a beginner and I've been asked to create a website and then make it secure
    Then you need to research what makes a website unsecured and solve some of those issues.

If you're a complete beginner and your first thought is to go on TSR and get someone to give you the answers then you're doing it wrong. If you don't know something then you need to go do your own research and think things through for yourself.

ReputationRep:
    A few tips off the top of my head.

1. Keep all software on the host server up-to date if possible. Including but not limited to your database, http server, application containers, PHP modules, etc.
    2. Only grant as much permission as required to files and folders on your filesystem
    3. Use SFTP and ensure SFTP users don't have SSH access or CHROOT them.
    4. Enforce a whitelist IP policy on SSH users and on database access
    5. Keep all passwords secure. Length > complexity. Don't use dictionary words. Use a combination of characters, letters and punctuation. Change these passwords regularly.