Join TSR now and get answers to all your questions about uniSign up now

Nursing woes

ReputationRep:
    Hi all

I'm a second year student nurse and I'm struggling. I've spoken to the uni about my struggle with depression and they have been wonderfully supportive, but I feel it goes deeper than that. I am academic (so I'm told) but am struggling to motivate myself with going to class, let alone starting to plan for the sheer volume of assignments/exams. I feel totally overwhelmed and am just not sure this is the right thing for me, yet I feel I can't quit as I don't know what else to do and would feel like a failure. I know lots of people have had dips in confidence throughout this course but I really don't know how to pull myself through.

Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Kirst.

ReputationRep:
    A lot of nursing students will feel like this at times!
    If you're feeling so overwhelmed you do have the option of taking a year out to gather yourself and have some time off before returning to the course.
    You will have a personal tutor that you can talk to as well and make use of the support staff available in university.
    I'd also make an appointment with your gp and talk to them as well as you will need a gp letter for any circumstances where you may want an extension to help you balance the work load.
    Unfortunately nursing is not easy and it can take its toll which is where a lot of people do drop out. But this should be done as an last resort if it is something you enjoy and want to do.
    Ultimately your health comes first so do what's best for you.

Posted from TSR Mobile

ReputationRep:
    (Original post by Kirstmarie)
    Hi all