Join TSR now and get answers to all your questions about uniSign up now

Applying for Part III.. had a bad year?

ReputationRep:
    Hi

I have been suffering from mental health problems and family bereavements during my time at university. My first two years did not go too well (average 2:2). I am in my third year of studying mathematics and I would absolutely love to apply to Part III.

However my transcripts for the first two years will be absolutely abysmal compared to what they would be expecting. Over the summer I have taken the initiative to begin working on my final year project and I've been reading ahead of all my lectures and going beyond. As a result I'm having a good time and whizzing through everything so far. My tutor is impressed with the turn around.

Would an exceptional (+85%?) final year make up for a pretty bad first and second year? I understand that I will have to apply with transcripts and there won't really be any indication of any strong results until after my January exams - by then most funding opportunities will be gone. I also come from quite a poor background and I'm blessed to make it in a russel group uni to study maths, let alone having the aspirations to go to Cambridge, so funding will be important. I am willing to put my savings into funding and living costs if need be.

Would I stand a chance at applying during this year, after my January exam marks are released?

Or should I just work as hard as I can and apply after I have graduated?

I am not a genius by any means, but I am a hard worker. My issues are now gone and I have nothing holding me back.

Am I dreaming or would I have a chance?

If somebody could move this to help me out if needed, I'd really appreciate it.

ReputationRep: