Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free

How do you read and study efficiently at university? (current and past uni students) Watch

ReputationRep:
    I'm a new first year student at university and I start my lectures and stuff on Tuesday but I'm anxious because I feel like I don't know how to study or read the required reading right. I desperately want to finish this year with a 'first' so please help. I'm asking any current or past uni students of their experiences and their best tips to study well.

But first could you answer a few of my questions?
    I have a reading list for 2 of my modules and I'm not sure how to tackle them. There are sections for 'required reading' and 'further reading' - do I need to take notes from reading the passages of the books? In the 'further reading' section, there are multiple books so do I need to read all of them or just a few?

How do I save money on textbooks? I've looked at the cost of textbooks and the sheer amount that I will need in total and it's enough to bring me high amounts of stress. I just want to buy the books that I seem to need more of and then just borrow the rest from the library and take notes from those. Is that efficient? My friend's at other unis are talking about having to pay £300+ and I just can't afford that. On a side note, what are we paying 9k a year for?

Do I need to start revising from my very first lecture? How do I do it well?

By the way, I'm a Sociology student so most of my time is spent in independent study.

'
    • Community Assistant

ReputationRep:
    1) I would take notes for all required reading and take notes from further readings you find interesting or relevant - I would read all if you want a 1st
    2) Look for them online in pdf format, just google the title + pdf. Alternatively second hand off amazon or eBay. If a different edition exists which is cheaper, email the module leader and ask if it would be ok to use the older edition. Or use the library