Trainee accounting role (ACA contract)

Announcements

ReputationRep:
    I am a recent graduate in finance with a first. I have been offered a role in a small accounting firm paying £14,000 and ACA training support. I wanted to know if this was normal for a contract. I know the salary is not amazing however for me it's crucial to get in to the field and get experience as I do not have any experience within the field.
    ACA contact- Standard 48 month contact with two attempts at each level.

-Recovery of course fees, study time and institute membership during or with in two years of qualification.
    If my contract gets terminated by either the firm or by myself i would need to pay these cost back. That within it self, is quite understandable. However they have valued this at (£300 per week). Is this normal?

I am still trying to weigh up my options and do not know whether I should take this opportunity on...
    the interview it self was ok, and the firm looked to have a nice and relax atmosphere.

Thanks

ReputationRep:
    Where is this firm located. Sounds like a nightmare to me.

Posted from TSR Mobile

ReputationRep:
    (Original post by 2710)
    Where is this firm located. Sounds like a nightmare to me.

Posted from TSR Mobile
    Just outside london

ReputationRep:
    Have you applied to other firms? Have this one as a last resort.

Posted from TSR Mobile

ReputationRep:
    (Original post by 2710)
    Have you applied to other firms? Have this one as a last resort.

Posted from TSR Mobile
    I have applied for quite a few, some I had interviews for. I was offered another job paying £12,000 + ACCA but again very similar the small accounting practice which i turned down. This is the only firm option I currently have.

ReputationRep:
    You have a first in finance. What is stopping you from getting into a top 20 firm?

Posted from TSR Mobile

ReputationRep:
    (Original post by 2710)