iPad mini/air or netbook for uni?

Announcements

ReputationRep:
    I'm in my final year of uni and am getting fed up of lugging my hefty laptop to and from uni every day. I am looking for something primarily to use for note taking in lectures & seminars, and also for reading.

My budget is roughly £100-£200, but I realise I'd have to spend a little more than this for an iPad, and then for a keyboard so that will all add up. I am considering an iPad as I feel I may get use out of this outside of university too, particularly as I travel a lot, whereas the netbook I guess would only be used at uni. I have a feeling the netbook would serve me better for note taking though and is generally more practical considering what I need it for.

Any advice?

ReputationRep:
    (Original post by peanutbuttercup)
    I'm in my final year of uni and am getting fed up of lugging my hefty laptop to and from uni every day. I am looking for something primarily to use for note taking in lectures & seminars, and also for reading.

My budget is roughly £100-£200, but I realise I'd have to spend a little more than this for an iPad, and then for a keyboard so that will all add up. I am considering an iPad as I feel I may get use out of this outside of university too, particularly as I travel a lot, whereas the netbook I guess would only be used at uni. I have a feeling the netbook would serve me better for note taking though and is generally more practical considering what I need it for.

Any advice?
    Is this going to be your only computer, or will you be keeping your larger one for use at home?

ReputationRep:
    If it's just for note taking and you have access to more powerful computer I'd recommend a chromebook. Look into them first(they can be limited) but for basic tasks they are very good apparently. I've been thinking about picking one up for the same reason. Much cheaper then the other two options.

ReputationRep:
    (Original post by Gofre)