Is my learning technique bad for pharmacy?

Announcements

ReputationRep:
    Hey guys, basically I'm really panicking if I am wasting time the way in which I am studying my degree, 1st year. Its the 3rd week now in terms of lectures. I've JUST memorised/revised the 1st week of lecture slides...this was done by my new method of learning which is making question flash cards e.g. questions on one side, answers and diagrams on the other. While I am doing this...I cant help but feel I am just wasting my time, and instead of putting hours into writing letters/words on a small piece of paper while not really being able to memorise it, I could use that time instead to just look at the powerpoint slides and try to memorise it from there straight off. I have tried that method tho....and it doesn't really help me, or maybe I am doing it wrong.

With the demand of my course compared to others, added on top with my longwinded learning technique, I really am worried I might fail the year

Btw, i personally find writing "notes" in uni a waste of time, done it before in GCSE's, not A level. I just dont see the point of writing something out again when it's perfectly well explained on a textbook or a powerpoint. I know it is a bit hypocritical that I am writing flash cards, but it feels like I am "actively learning" rather than just trying to memorise memorise memorise.

ReputationRep:
    (Original post by scaphrax)