Car insurance cancellation

Announcements Posted on

ReputationRep:
    Hi guys, I was a named driver (third) on my Dad's insurance policy. However the insurance company cancelled the car insurance due to a change in circumstances (my Dad changed jobs)

Now I am trying to get car insurance for myself on my own name and have my Mum as a second driver, do I need to notify the insurance company that I have previously had insurance cancelled although I was not the first driver and I barely drove that car?

So confused!

ReputationRep:
    No... unless you're trying to claim no claim bonus.

ReputationRep:
    (Original post by Capsule)
    Hi guys, I was a named driver (third) on my Dad's insurance policy. However the insurance company cancelled the car insurance due to a change in circumstances (my Dad changed jobs)

Now I am trying to get car insurance for myself on my own name and have my Mum as a second driver, do I need to notify the insurance company that I have previously had insurance cancelled although I was not the first driver and I barely drove that car?

So confused!
    If it wasn't your policy, you don't need to disclose it; you haven't had a policy cancelled.

ReputationRep:
    (Original post by IWMTom)
    If it wasn't your policy, you don't need to disclose it; you haven't had a policy cancelled.
    I agree.
    Your dad had the policy cancelled not you.

ReputationRep:
    (Original post by IWMTom)
    (Original post by Emma:-))
    I agree.
    Your dad had the policy cancelled not you.

(Original post by AccountingBabe)
    No... unless you're trying to claim no claim bonus.

Thanks guys! If any of you have tips for getting decent car insurance please tell me. All the quotes I'm getting are ridiculous (£1.8K!) and I'm 22 -__-

ReputationRep:
    Have you tried putting your mum named driver and you unnamed? She's more likely to get lower insurance.

ReputationRep:
    (Original post by AccountingBabe)