The Student Room Group

Rate My CV?

--
(edited 2 years ago)
It's pretty good. Just a few things I would say. Firstly it's too long. CVs should be maximum 2 sides. Even 1.5 sides is pushing it. The best CVs are around 1 side long, keep it short and simple. Cut down on the white space and perhaps make the font a bit smaller. Don't just have giant paragraph space for the sake of it. Also dont label your first paragraph "personal statement", it doesn't sound right. In all the jobs that you did, perhaps add a short sentence explaining the job a bit more or perhaps the skills you gained from it (interacting with customers etc.)

Posted from TSR Mobile
great thanks for the help, I will cut down on the white space and probably make the font smaller. Any idea what I should put instead of "Personal Statement"?
Original post by jjmanowski
Hi guys, I am currently studying in Edinburgh and about to start looking for jobs. I am studying Software Engineering and would love a part time job in something techy like apple (idk if they do part time) or maplin etc. I have had previous job experience in mostly restaurants and would prefer to try something new. If you have any ideas on what kind of jobs I could apply for it would be greatly appreciated.
I have attached a copy of my CV would be great if people could tell me what they think I could change and improve on . I have taken out the personal info in the CV.

It looks good, could do with a few tweaks
Original post by MuhammadDarcy
It looks good, could do with a few tweaks

such as? :smile:
"Napier Edinburgh"?????
Original post by jambojim97
"Napier Edinburgh"?????

Whoops, fixed.
Original post by jambojim97
"Napier Edinburgh"?????

I didn't get that either
Original post by MuhammadDarcy
I didn't get that either

Just swap over the two words. The name of the uni is Edinburgh Napier.
Original post by cbreef
Just swap over the two words. The name of the uni is Edinburgh Napier.

ayy, fixed it to Edinburgh Napier University