The Student Room Group

Medical school

Hey guys, I'm a second year medical student at Imperial and I'd be happy to answer any questions anyone has about GCSEs/A-levels, applying to medical school or what medical school is actually like. Also with the BMAT coming up you're welcome to ask me any questions about that and I can even offer some tutoring if anyone needs.
Reply 1
Original post by AortaStudyMore
Hey guys, I'm a second year medical student at Imperial and I'd be happy to answer any questions anyone has about GCSEs/A-levels, applying to medical school or what medical school is actually like. Also with the BMAT coming up you're welcome to ask me any questions about that and I can even offer some tutoring if anyone needs.

HI! Thanks for this offer. I am looking to apply to medicine next year however I was wondering what type of things can i do in addition to academia to improve my personal profile and make me a more sought after candidate?

Hey:smile:

How much of a step up is med school in terms of workload?

Similarly how much free time do you have?

Hi,

How should i go about preparing for interview?
Original post by ashooks
HI! Thanks for this offer. I am looking to apply to medicine next year however I was wondering what type of things can i do in addition to academia to improve my personal profile and make me a more sought after candidate?

Team sports are the best thing, volunteering, jobs, prefect at school, tutoring, music, DofE etc are all also pretty standard, but maybe try and do something a bit outside the box, something quirky or unique, as in, instead of doing football, do something a bit different like lacrosse or ice hockey or something (idk, they're just examples)
Original post by HopelessMedic
Hey:smile:

How much of a step up is med school in terms of workload?

Similarly how much free time do you have?