The Student Room Group
Coventry University
Coventry University
Coventry
Visit website

Dropping Out of uni - Mechanical Engineering : Help and Thoughts?

Hi, I am a student studying mechanical engineering at Coventry Uni and I am edging closer and closer to dropping out. I've been doing my course for not long now (2 weeks at the course and 3 weeks in total at uni). I greatly dislike the course, its uninteresting to me and the maths is dull and also difficult. The second term seems like it may differ but should I be doing a course that half of it I hate? On other note , I like uni. I got a few mates from college here and I really like my accommodation and the social aspect. However , I am here for a purpose and if that purpose is meaningless to me should I be here? Thanks , Best regards Tom
Reply 1
Check your Uni's policies ASAP, if you want to drop out you've probably only got about 6 hours to do so (they usually have a two week period in which you can drop out without paying for the full term).
Coventry University
Coventry University
Coventry
Visit website
Original post by smithy64
Hi, I am a student studying mechanical engineering at Coventry Uni and I am edging closer and closer to dropping out. I've been doing my course for not long now (2 weeks at the course and 3 weeks in total at uni). I greatly dislike the course, its uninteresting to me and the maths is dull and also difficult. The second term seems like it may differ but should I be doing a course that half of it I hate? On other note , I like uni. I got a few mates from college here and I really like my accommodation and the social aspect. However , I am here for a purpose and if that purpose is meaningless to me should I be here? Thanks , Best regards Tom

Well you have 2 out of 3 ok. Accommodation and social life.

Options