Getting ahead

Announcements Posted on
Four things that unis think matter more than league tables 08-12-2016

ReputationRep:
    Hi

I'm in my first year of 6th form at a comprehensive school, and I've decided that I want to study medicine (so beginning academic year 2018/19).

I need to know what little things I can do to get ahead of other applicants like me. I was lucky enough to get a 3-day GP shadowing experience in the summer, and I'm currently in the process of applying for a 2-day hospital work experience. I've been trying to get some long-term work experience at a care home, but they either don't reply, or they say I need to be over 18

This time next year (!!!), I would have sent off my UCAS application, but I want to know things I can do right here right now to make a truly competitive application, for example, books to read and ways to prepare for the admissions tests/interviews. I know it's all really early but I'm taking no chances!

Any help would be super appreciated.

Thanks in advance! x

ReputationRep:
    i'm a med student and id recommend
    volunteer as an event first aider with the red cross and u get first aid training for free
    get a job in a hospital
    volunteer in a care home/hospice/ residential home
    nuffield research project or any other research project
    "medic insight" days
    open days
    talks and lectures by people at uni
    practice the ukcat
    get a volunteering award for example the saltire award or somethingd
    dofe
    sport/music
    get dem As

Just do as much as possible and become as perfect a human being as possible

ReputationRep:
    (Original post by HopefullyOneDay)
    i'm a med student and id recommend
    volunteer as an event first aider with the red cross and u get first aid training for free
    get a job in a hospital
    volunteer in a care home/hospice/ residential home
    nuffield research project or any other research project
    "medic insight" days
    open days