The Student Room Group

Office of Independent Adjudicator - good or bad experiences?

I am a final year student however i failed one of my exams and my appeal outcome was unsuccessful - they didn't accept my extenuating circumstance which was handed in after i discovered i failed - yep i know this is my own fault . I have an ongoing medical condition which the uni are well aware of. I feel like it was unfair the way they disregarded a legitimate medical note and was wondering whether going down the Office of Independent Adjudicator route would be a viable option.

My uni do offer another alternative to present relevant new material which would support my appeal - but i need good reason as to why it wasn't presented before.

What should i do?!!

Any advice?
Reply 1
Did you resolve your case?

I've heard that this is a fairly common problem with university's not accepting evidence after a student takes the exam.

It seems to depend on how reasonable your university is with regards to accepting late evidence. I think unfortunately most are very unreasonable. If they have strict guidelines on it, it is very possible that the OIA will defend the university no matter how unreasonable this sounds.

With hindsight, after taking my complaint to the OIA, I wish I would have got a higher education law solicitor to advise me on the merits of my case as early as possible. I know that the OIA advertise on their website that it isn't necessary but I strongly believe they say this for their own benefit not yours. The one I spoke to quoted £300 - £500 to do this, which is a lot of money but worth it, since it is the student’s job to persuade the OIA your complaint is justified. This is very difficult when you are not 100% sure of the merits of your case. I don't think many solicitors have a legal aid contract for judicial review, although I know that at least one exists.