The Student Room Group

Accounting qualifications

Hello
Is there a comprehensive comparison table or list of the accounting qualifications?
I am interested for an introductory 1-2 years course (or even 6 months) that is level 2/3/4 and preferably counts towards more advanced professional qualifications.
What are my options?
Thanks!

Posted from TSR Mobile
Reply 1
Study the AAT. Try to get an apprenticeship where you're working and studying at the same time. Practical experience is everything in accounting.

The AAT also offers exemptions from papers F1-F4 of the ACCA I believe.

I'm currently working in a practice after graduating and due to my limited experience, I'm a total rookie compared to those who have done the AAT instead of uni.
Reply 2
AAT and not cima, cafb??

I cannot do an apprenticeship as I am studying at uni atm for irrelevant degree.

Posted from TSR Mobile
Original post by verier
Hello
Is there a comprehensive comparison table or list of the accounting qualifications?
I am interested for an introductory 1-2 years course (or even 6 months) that is level 2/3/4 and preferably counts towards more advanced professional qualifications.
What are my options?
Thanks!

Posted from TSR Mobile

No accounting employer expects you to be completing professional qualifications while doing your degree. What you should do is apply for graduate schemes like the ones at Deloitte, pwc, kpmg, ey and plenty of other firms. They will train you for the ACA or CIMA, the most prestigious one is the ACA so go for those in particular. You don't need to complete any qualifications while at university- just do some light research to make sure you know what an accounting career involves and apply to graduate schemes.
Reply 4
Original post by verier
AAT and not cima, cafb??

I cannot do an apprenticeship as I am studying at uni atm for irrelevant degree.

Posted from TSR Mobile