Interview for a hospitality staffing job - no experience. Help! Watch

Bezoar
Badges: 18
Rep:
?
Report Thread starter 3 years ago
Hi all,

I'm currently hunting for jobs as I'm very poor right now and I've been offered an interview for a hospitality company. My understanding is that they train up bar staff / waiters / cleaners etc and send them out to different venues and events to help out.

All my previous employment has been in retail, so I actually have no idea how this industry works or what kind of things they may ask me in the interview.

Can anyone here with a similar job or previous experience in catering / hospitality give me some advice please? How can I pass an interview in this industry?

Thanks in advance!
Bezoar
Badges: 18
Rep:
?
Report Thread starter 3 years ago
:bump:
Anonymous #1
Report 3 years ago
Hello.

I have been a Chef for the last 16 years.

As daft as it sounds 9/10 places don't mind if you haven't got any experience. As long as you are prepared to do as your told and work hard and most of all listen and learn to what you are being told then that is fine. I have realized that in this industry it doesn't matter about experience as its not hard to get the hang of. It is hectic and hard work at times, you will work long shifts often without any or little break, you'll be fine. Just be yourself and show that your willing to work hard and learn.
threeportdrift
Badges: 20
Rep:
?
Report 3 years ago
(Original post by Bezoar)
Hi all,

I'm currently hunting for jobs as I'm very poor right now and I've been offered an interview for a hospitality company. My understanding is that they train up bar staff / waiters / cleaners etc and send them out to different venues and events to help out.

All my previous employment has been in retail, so I actually have no idea how this industry works or what kind of things they may ask me in the interview.