Turn on thread page Beta

ReputationRep:
    So im in my final year and have to do a dissertation this year. I've done a substantial amount of reading and will be starting an outline plan soon. I was wondering if anyone had any advice on how to get a 2:1 or 1st? How did you plan out your timescales and try and keep ontop of the dissertation without becoming lenient?

ReputationRep:
    Bumping for other people to answer!

ReputationRep:
    I can only tell you what not to do

Borrow all the books u need and stack them against 1 wall of your room. Read them starting a week before hand in.

Write up the thing at 4am on the due day (after a party, of course) and get it in before the deadline of 12 noon.

Then go back to bed. zZz..............

That's what I did. Got a good score and got my degree.
    • Community Assistant

ReputationRep:
    Community Assistant
    Contact your supervisor a lot, hassle them if you must. Make notes of what they say and take it on board as they are often the ones who mark it.

ReputationRep:
    In short - just work hard. If you don't like a part or a section, it is better to rewrite it to extant in which you will be satisfied with it. Also, as it was previously mentioned try to establish a good and productive relationship with your supervisor. Don't be afraid to participate in discussions with him/her; don't just agree with everything he says, try to question his arguments if you disagree. From what I've seen during my master, most supervisors welcome such attitude.

Good luck

ReputationRep:
    Best piece of advise I can give, start early, work on it whenever you can. Speak with your supervisor and get advise as and when you need it. When I did mine I started very early on it and used my supervisor as much as possible. I got a 2.1 on my dissertation which I was really happy with, as my dissertation was the hardest piece of work I did at university.

Posted from TSR Mobile
    • TSR Support Team
    • Study Helper

ReputationRep: