Turn on thread page Beta

ReputationRep:
    Hi all

I'm a penultimate student applying for 2017 summer internships in HR/Marketing. For most of the major places I can't seem to get past the psychometric tests (particularly numerical and reasoning). I've tried practicing online but the complexity of the questions and time constraints is very off putting.
    My plan at the moment is to wait for spring next year where smaller companies might hire interns without psychometric tests but I would like to have a chance at bigger companies hiring now.
    What have people done about going around this, are there any major places that wouldn't ask for numerical/reasoning tests or at least consider it in relation to your application?

Thanks

ReputationRep:
    (Original post by r-t)
    Hi all

I'm a penultimate student applying for 2017 summer internships in HR/Marketing. For most of the major places I can't seem to get past the psychometric tests (particularly numerical and reasoning). I've tried practicing online but the complexity of the questions and time constraints is very off putting.
    My plan at the moment is to wait for spring next year where smaller companies might hire interns without psychometric tests but I would like to have a chance at bigger companies hiring now.
    What have people done about going around this, are there any major places that wouldn't ask for numerical/reasoning tests or at least consider it in relation to your application?

Thanks
    AssessmentDay is a good website with good advice.

With numerical reasoning tests, I'd say the key is to not be afraid of them. These tests require no real math knowledge. You need to know adding, subtracting, dividing, your times table as well as percentages and ratios.

They focus more on how you interpret data accurately and in a timely manner. It's mainly graphs and tables too - they follow a similar format, get used to this and you'll be fine.