Turn on thread page Beta

RAF.. Opportunities to progress from airman? watch

ReputationRep:
    Hi everyone,

So I've decided that a career in the RAF seems like something I would like to pursue. I'm particularly interested in the intelligence analyst and intelligence officer roles. However I'm not sure whether to apply for an airman role or an officer role.

I have a maths degree but having read online about the application process I'm a bit intimidated, especially by the filter interview for an officer position. I'm also worried that an officer position for me may be biting off more than I can chew at this stage, I don't consider myself a natural leader yet but could see myself being ready after gaining experience.

I'm wondering is it common for graduates to enter as airmen? I feel I would like to gain some experience as an intelligence analyst and then progress towards an intelligence officer position. Is this a viable plan?

Any advice appreciated!
    • CV Helper

ReputationRep:
    CV Helper
    It's a plan. Not a great plan and likely to take a very long time.
    The general split at entry to the Armed Forces is graduate and non-graduate, Officer and enlisted being the split roughly along those lines. Moving up from enlisted to commissioned is a hard thing to do and takes several years to achieve. Other than getting some basic knowledge of the way the military works and the role of people, joining as an Airman is not all that useful 'experience' as far as going for a commission is concerned.

ReputationRep:
    I agree with ProStacker that if you're looking to be an officer during your career it's worth going for it straight off the bat and not joining as an airman. If you're unsuccessful at OASC then consider other alternatives.