Turn on thread page Beta

ReputationRep:
    Hi,

I graduated uni in July 2016. Moved out of student accommodation mid-July into a house with my boyfriend (who is doing his PhD full-time, therefore a student). Will be here until the end of November.

Just received a council tax letter saying I need to pay 700 pounds worth of tax from period July-March 2017.

I didn't know international students/graduates even pay tax?? And why is it such a large amount??

Anyone experience this before or have any advice?

Cheers.
    • PS Reviewer

ReputationRep:
    PS Reviewer
    (Original post by Kay_LaDope)
    Hi,

I graduated uni in July 2016. Moved out of student accommodation mid-July into a house with my boyfriend (who is doing his PhD full-time, therefore a student). Will be here until the end of November.

Just received a council tax letter saying I need to pay 700 pounds worth of tax from period July-March 2017.

I didn't know international students/graduates even pay tax?? And why is it such a large amount??

Anyone experience this before or have any advice?

Cheers.
    Most people pay council tax. You will be exempt whilst actually a student, but will be liable for the period from your degree ending. Council tax is based on the house, so depends how big your house is; mine is £150 per month so actually £700 for July-March is pretty good.

ReputationRep:
    Being international is irrelevant. All students are exempt from council tax and all non students have to pay. As soon as there is one non students living in a residence then it is liable for council tax. You stopped being a student in the summer and so the property has been liable for council tax since then. Your partner could have claimed an exemption which would have given you a 25% single person discount but I'm not sure this can be applied retrospectively.

ReputationRep: